What is a Governing Body?

The purpose of governance is to provide confident and strong strategic leadership which leads to robust accountability, oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance.   

All governance boards (often referred to as Governing Bodies), no matter what type of school or how many schools they govern, have three core functions: 

• Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction; 

• Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff; and 

• Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent. 


Structure of the Governing Body

The Governing Body is made up from the various stakeholder groups that the school serves. These are parents, staff, the local community and the Local Authority. Governors are elected from amongst the parent body and staff group and are appointed to represent the broader community and Local Authority. 


The size and composition of the Governing Body is determined by the school’s ‘Instrument of Government’. This also determines the term of office served by the governors.

Our Governors:

Lisa Kent (Chair) - Lisa is Chair of two local charities (Home Start Surrey and Cook4Care), is a Sussex County Magistrate, Chair of Governors for the Federation of Walton Leigh and Manor Mead Special schools, and represents governors on the SaFE Board and the Surrey Schools Forum. In addition to her voluntary work, Lisa has over 20 years of banking and programme management experience. Lisa has 3 grown step children and two children still in education.


Catharina Hickson – Catharina is a member of the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education (SDBE) and currently acting chair of the SDBE multi-academy Trust. Previously chair of St Mary’s CofE Primary School in Oxted, she has been a primary school governor for over 20 years and a secondary school governor for 4 years. 

Eric Verheijden – Eric is currently chair of governors at Bell Farm Primary School, he has been a governor for five years and a chair of governors for four years. He brings 33 years of experience in finance to the school.


Helen Dungey - Helen joined the Governing Body in January 2022. She was keen to become a Parent Governor as she is passionate about our wonderfully warm and diverse school community and believes in the school system enabling every child to reach their potential.

Being a Mum to two boys who are both at the school (Reception and Year Four) means that as a parent and class rep she knows the school well. Helen has been impressed with the calibre of the school’s teaching and enrichment activities.

Throughout her career in market research and business intelligence she's developed core skills in strategic thinking, data analysis, project management and financial responsibility, all of which are transferable to school governance.


Simon Eades - Born and raised in Surrey, Simon has lived in Epsom, close to the school, since 2012. He has two boys at the school, currently in Reception and Year 3.

Simon had a 15 year career in higher education working at a range of London institutions across a number of functions including admissions, quality assurance, governance and student support. He joined the civil service in January 2021 and is now working in a corporate support role in a government department.